About the Trust

About the trust  
What the Trust does and does not fund  
How and when to apply
Past grantees  
Contact info  
Back to home page  
AWRT Privacy notice  
The Andrew Wainwright Reform Trust Ltd takes its name from Andrew Wainwright, a lifelong campaigner for radical reform who taught at Hlekweni rural training centre in Zimababwe in 1970, a time when the movement for freedom and democracy was gathering strength. A small book of his diaries and letters from Hlekweni is available. He later campaigned for the freedom movements in South Africa, Mozambique and Guinea Bissau and other causes seeking improvements for those at disadvantage closer to home.

The Trust is a non-profit-making company limited by guarantee registered in England & Wales No. 2608087.

It is run by seven trustees who are all members of the Wainwright family. They are:

  • Hugh Scott (Chair), former solicitor and trustee of Manningham Housing Association

  • Hilary Wainwright, author, co-editor of Red Pepper and Fellow of the Transnational Institute

  • Martin Wainwright, former Northern Editor of The Guardian

  • Penny Wainwright, author and museum trustee

  • Tessa Wainwright, teacher of English as a foreign language

Kerry McQuade is administrator for the Trust and the Scurrah Wainwright Charity.

The registered office is at Carlton House, Bull Close Lane, Halifax, West Yorkshire HX1 2EG.

The Trust's financial advisor and accountant is Peter Dyson of Bairstow & Atkinson, Halifax.

Investment is managed by Close Brothers Asset Management.